The Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dato' Sri Reezal Merican Naina Merican, will be leading Malaysia's delegation to the 13th Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) Foreign Ministers' Meeting (ASEM FMM13), which will be held in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar from 20-21 November 2017. He will be accompanied by senior officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The theme for ASEM FMM13 is Strengthening Partnership for Peace and Sustainable Development. Ministers and heads of delegations are expected to deliberate on the importance of synergising peace and sustainable development in making ASEM partnership more dynamic towards promoting inclusive growth and prosperity between Asia and Europe.

The meeting is expected to adopt the ASEM FMM13 Chair's Statement as the outcome document of the meeting. The Chair's Statement will outline the efforts and measures to be undertaken by ASEM Member Partners in enhancing the existing ASEM partnership, promotion of peace and sustainable development, as well as charting the future of ASEM.

The Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs is scheduled to deliver a statement at the First Plenary Session of ASEM FMM13 with the theme Synergizing Peace and Sustainable Development.

The Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs will also hold bilateral meetings with other heads of delegation at the side lines of the meeting to discuss issues of mutual interest.

Malaysia's participation at the ASEM FMM13 is an affirmation of its continued commitment to ASEM, including strengthening the engagement with ASEM Member Partners.

Established in 1996, ASEM is a platform for informal dialogue and cooperation based on equal partnership under three main pillars namely; political, economic and socio-cultural fields. ASEM has demonstrated itself be a unique forum for the deliberations of important regional and international issues that affects peace and security, including as an avenue to enhance connectivity in all spheres between the two regions. ASEM has 53 Member Partners, consisting of 21 Asian countries, 28 European Union member states, 2 other European countries, the European Union, and the ASEAN Secretariat.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia