Poet and Ateneo de Manila University professor Michael Coroza was elected chairman of the Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas or Umpil during the first meeting of the new Umpil executive board of directors last May 26 at the President's Restaurant in Ongpin, Manila.

Other officers elected were Rebecca AAonuevo, vice chairman; John Iremil Teodoro, secretary general; Louie Jon Sanchez, treasurer; and Shirley Lua, auditor.

Board members in attendance were Karina Bolasco (the immediate past chair), John Enrico Torralba, Celina Cristobal, Ariel Sotelo Tabag (representing) Ilocano writers), Aldrin Pentero (representing young writers), and Joaquin Sy (representing Chinese-Filipino writers), who generously hosted the meeting. Kristian Sendon Cordero and Fidel Rillo were also elected members of the board in the organization's congress last April.

Several projects to be undertaken by Umpil were outlined like the publication of the proceedings of the South East Asian writers conference last year, cross Asean translation project, and especially the fora on the different streams of Philippine literature called Umpilan.

The first Umpilan for 2016 featuring Pampangan literature will be held today, June 29, 12:45 to 2:15 p.m., at the European Documentation Centre, 13th floor, Henry Sy Sr. Hall, De La Salle University, Manila. It will feature two scholars of Pampangan literature Dr. Lucena Samson and Dr. Leonora Yambao.

This is open free to the public. Main entrance is at Gate 2/North Gate. Visitors may secure BNSCWC Event Pass from security and bring ID to show identification proof.

Source: Tribune